Powerbar Gel Review

This weekend I had an 11 mile run in training for a half marathon I have in a couple weeks.  When I ran my first marathon I was very unprepared as far as hydration goes-  I hadn’t used any gels or sportsdrinks in my training and “winged” it during the race.  Fortunately, my stomach was not bothered by these foreign ingredients and since then I vowed to run my long runs as I would a race.. with proper hydration and refueling.

The gels I’ve used before during a marathon were GU energy gels.  I liked them a lot but know that there are MANY other alternatives out there so I decided to try some others. 

The first ones on my list are Powerbar Gels. 

This is mainly because I think power bars in every form are delicious.  They chewy goopy bars taste similar to candy bars, and with the huge sweet tooth I have, what’s not to love?!

Another good thing about Powerbar products is that they are found in nearly every grocery store, convenience store, gas station store, running store, health foods store, sporting goods store…etc  They are probably the most widely known sports product, except for maybe gatorade. 

Luckily, my local grocery store carried Powerbar Gels in the nutrition section of the store and I decided to try out the Chocolate flavor, the only other flavors they offered were fruity and for some reason I prefer my gels to taste like those fudge packets that came with the dessert Lunchables for sake of nostalgia:

Don’t worry, I won’t be reviewing those anytime soon.  I don’t even want to look at the ingredients list on those babies..

But, moving on, I decided Chocolate would be a good flavor to review because I also love GU chocolate gels.

As it was 20 degrees outside, I ran on the treadmill at the Gym.  With a goal of 11 miles I decided to run 6 miles and then mentally decide whether I needed the gels.  Running more than 6 miles on a treadmill is incredibly difficult mentally and so I needed the gels to be able to get through my run mentally.  I ate half of it after mile 6.  It was very thick.  It had a good flavor, thick and chocolatey, a little on the sweet side for my tastes.  After gulping down some water it kicked in and I felt reenergized for about 15 minutes.  Then I took the rest of it and it took me through the rest of my run.

On terms of flavor I would grade it a 3/5, and on terms of results I would also say a 3/5. 

It didn’t live up to GU gels, but a suitable alternative if you are uanble to get GU’s.

Leave a Reply

