TGIF B-Fast & Pancake Roll-Ups

Today has been a good day so far!

I’m planning on participating in an archaeological field school in Peru this summer and I got a letter from the Anthro department at my school that I was awarded a $500 research scholarship! I am incredibly happy about it- field schools are expensive and this will be tremendously helpful with funding.

Also, I went to a really cool lecture today about Underwater Archaeology in Ghana. I decided last minute to go and I’m very glad that I did. While underwater archaeology is something that I would NOT want to pursue (it involves scuba diving and I would not be comfortable doing field work under water!) it was very interesting to learn about because I really knew nothing about it before the lecture. The archaeologist that came to speak, Dr. Kira Kaufmann, is involved in historic archaeology and the time of European colonization in Africa, which is also something I’m not too familiar with. Most of the archaeology classes I’ve taken have stopped at the historic period and only cover prehistory.

I fueled this day of classes & lecture with overnight oats for breakfast!
A little different than my usual, they contained

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup Oikos
  • pinch salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp agave
  • 1 banana
  • 3 tbsp flax

Twas DELISH!

I eat a lot of fruit a day and rarely post pictures of it.. So here’s a couple oranges that I had with breakfast ๐Ÿ™‚

Katie is havingย a Pancake Roll-Up Contest and I was thinking long and hard about what kind of pancakes I wanted to make…..

After hours and hours a while of thinking, I finally decided what to make for a late lunch/early dinner.

Egg White Pancakes Roll Ups with a Portabello-Spinach-Onion-Garlic filling ๐Ÿ™‚

For the filling, (I don’t measure out vegetables when I’m cooking them, so I’ll just list the ingredients I used):

  • a hell of a lot of spinach, washed
  • copious amounts of mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 small onion, chopped (the tears were flowing!)
  • 1 clove of garlic, smooshed and mashed
  • lots of curry
  • lots of paprika

I first sauteed the mushrooms, onion, and garlic in EVOO and then added spinach, curry, and paprika.

Then once the filling was well on it’s way, I measured out 1 cup of egg whites, took 2 small pans with EVOO and put 1/2 cup of egg whites in each pan.

I flipped the eggs over when they were finished on one side & then prepared them in roll-up fashion ๐Ÿ™‚

Okay so they’re not technically pancakes, but they’re pancake-like and delicious so who cares?ย  right?!

Whenever I think of different ways of making eggs (sunny side up, scrambled, poached, over easy, over medium, over hard….etc) I always think of The Runaway Bride and how Julia Robert’s character, Maggie,ย always said her favorite eggs were the same as whoever she was dating/engaged with and eventually, with Richard Gere’s character’s help I’m sure, figures out how she really likes her eggs:

ย “I love Eggs Benedict, I hate every other kind. I hate big weddings with everybody staring. I’d like to get married on a weekday while everybody’s at work. And when I ride off into the sunset, I want my own horse. “

How do you like your eggs? I like them over hard or hard-boiled ๐Ÿ™‚

ย 

By the way, theย one truth about meย in my “4 lies & 1 truth” post last night was unfortunately #3…ย  it eventually happens to every runner sooner or later ๐Ÿ™‚

13 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    eatmovelove said,

    So creative! Looks incredible…yum. I love the newspaper under your fuel as well ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. 3

    those really look so good, and the veggies look YUMMY. great idea for the contest ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 5

    Oh neat! I want to try those roll-ups!

    Thanks for commenting on my blog–it led me to yours!

  4. 7

    great idea to make savory roll ups! i love overnight oats too ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. 9

    Gorgeous!!
    And the breakfast is gorgeous too… I love the newspaper backdrop hehe

  6. 11

    Nora@LiveLifeEatRight said,

    Totally making this tonight!! I’ve been randomly craving an omelet all day top these babies with cheddar and hot sauce yummm!!

  7. 12

    Simply Life said,

    I have yet to try overnight oats but they look delicious!

  8. 13

    […] not bore you with MORE overnight oats pictures, but if you’re interested in seeing some click here and […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

