Disney Princess Half Marathon Race Recap!

Last Sunday I ran the Disney Princess Half-Marathon. It was my second half marathon: I ran the 13th annual Chicago Half last September in 2:04 and ran the Disney Princess in 1:53!

It was SO cold, everyone was huddling in blankets and winter wear and I was in a T-shirt freeeeezing my butt off! Throughout the race my hands and forearms were numb which made concentrating on the race difficult. I ran the first 7 miles in 8 minute – 8 minute 30 second miles and the last 6 was a struggle but a couple of GU gels and my ipod pulled me through.

The expo was very big and I picked up an I-fitness belt. I was a little dissapointed by the marathon merchandise for-sale, I expected Disney to have a larger selection of shirts for sale. The post-race refreshments were soso, LUNA bar was the sponsor and they gave mini bars out, after 13.1 miles I’d prefer a regular sized bar!

The race, however, was spectacular and a lot of fun!! Characters and spectators cheered us runners on and it was an absolute blast! The organization was supurb and the course was relatively easy with a few mini hills. Running down main street and through the castle was the climax!

Check me out in action:

& here are the goods:



& I wore my medal around the parks all day after šŸ™‚

& had a blast @ Disney World the rest of the week

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    You go girl! That’s awesome. I’m going to start running soon. Soon. Also– I gave you the creative blogger award in my Vacation post– check it out!

  2. 2

    Looks like so much fun!!! Congrats!

  3. 3

    That’s a sweet medal!! Congrats

  4. 4

    […] running the Disney Princess Half Marathon last weekend, I’ve been itching to run some other races and here are some ones I’m […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

